Author's Blog and Latest News

Tuesday
Apr042017

New Release!

Hushed releases today! (April 4, 2017)

I'm delighted to announce the release of my 11th novel!

 

*Hushed - a modern romance inspired by the classic tale of The Little Mermaid*

Would you sacrifice your voice for love?

18-year-old Romy Morgan desperately longs to escape the boring future her parents have planned for her, and explore the world.

When she saves her celebrity crush, superstar Logan Rush, from drowning, Romy is offered a job as his personal assistant. She strikes a deal to reinvent herself in exchange for entering the exciting world of the movies, and love sparks between her and this prince of Hollywood. But Romy soon discovers that she has traded her voice and identity for an illusion of freedom.

When she discovers a dreadful secret with the power to destroy Logan, Romy must choose between love, revenge and finding her own, true element.

If you like contemporary young adult romance with all the feels - and a twist of humor - then you’ll love this refreshingly modern and realistic spin on the classic tale of The Little Mermaid from award-winning YA author, Joanne Macgregor.

Note: this is not a fantasy novel – the only tails, fins and flippers in the story are those on sharks and whales!

Hushed makes great reading for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman.

Get your copy at Amazon here and the paperback here.

Tuesday
Mar212017

Franschhoek Literary Festival

This year's Franschhoek Literary Festival (19-21 May) looks to be enormous fun, with amazing authors and interesting panels. I'll be doing three events:

-  Social media for authors (with Pamela Power, Joanne 'Chocolat' Harris, and Victor Dlamini);

-  Writing YA for readers of all ages (with Janita Thiele Lawrence, Kiprop Kimutai and Helen Brain);

-  And on Friday 19 May, I'll be head-shrinking Harry Potter in a talk entitled, Harry On the Couch - which I once presented at an awesome Harry Potter conference in New Orleans, back in 2007, two months before the release of Deathly Hallows.

 

The festival is always a tonic - an immersion in words, wine and gastronomy in one of the most beautiful towns in the world. See you there?
 

Check out the awesome programme here:

 https://www.flf.co.za/programme/1/

Monday
Mar062017

COVER REVEAL!


 Cover Reveal! 
 

I’m so delighted to share the cover of my upcoming book with you!

Hushed is a young adult contemporary romance, which offers a fresh spin on Hans Christian Andersen’s classic tale of The Little Mermaid. 

I first read this book as a little kid and can still remember the board book with the rippled pictures that seemed to move as you turned and tilted the book this way and that. I was heartbroken for the mermaid - she saved the prince's life and gave up so much to be with him, and he didn't even know! And the princess accepted all the credit for the little mermaid's good deeds. (Princesses, man, always getting the special breaks!)

Unusually for a fairy tale retelling, this is a non-fantasy book – the only fins and flippers are on whales and dolphins – so I had to translate it into a realistic, contemporary world. I did not like the ending of the original tale (horrible!) and I'm happy to say I think mine is an improvement for modern girls and women! Fingers crossed readers think so, too!

Hushed should be released in the first week of April – squee!!

 Here's the full spread and blurb:


Tuesday
Feb142017

Look Ma, I'm on TV!

SABC Newsroom (DSTV CH 404) kindly invited me onto their book segment today, to chat about The Recoil Trilogy. Here's the action replay. (Don't judge, okay, some people stick their tongues out the side of their mouth when they think. I close my eyes.)

Wednesday
Dec072016

DYSTOPIAN DECEMBER

If you love dystopians, check out these terrific books - only $0.99c until 15 December!